Request a call back

N Biren Singh sworn in as first BJP Manipur CM, NPP's Y Joykumar becomes Deputy CM

N Biren Singh sworn in as first BJP Manipur CM, NPP's Y Joykumar becomes Deputy CM

Imphal: Nongthombam Biren Singh took oath as the chief minister of Manipur at the Raj Bhawan in Imphal on Wednesday afternoon. 

This comes after Governor Najma Haptullah invited the BJP-led coalition to form the next government in the state after being assured of requisite support from regional parties and Independent candidates.

Here are details of the swearing-in ceremony:

- Joykumar Singh sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister of Manipur. He is from the NPP and has also served as the former DGP of Manipur. He was once considered to be former CM Okram Ibobi's right-hand man.

- Vishwajeet Singh and Joykumar Singh also took oath as minister today.

- Nongthombam Biren Singh took oath as Manipur  Chief Minister at Raj Bhavan in Imphal today. Soon after taking oath as CM, he shakes hands with the former chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh.

- Smaller parties helped us form government in both Goa as well as Manipur. Congress did not support in either state from smaller parties, and hence they did not claim to form government: Rijiju tells Zee News.

- Congress did not claim the required number to form government in either Goa or Manipur. BJP is forming coalition government in both the states and it is not illegal to form a coalition government, says MoS Kiren Rijiju

- BJP president Amit Shah, Information and Broadcasting Minister Venkaiah Naidu and BJP National General Secretary Shri Ramlal return to Delhi after a technical glitch in his flight. They were on their way to attend N. Biren Singh's oath taking ceremony in Imphal today.

- The Chief Minister-elect Biren Singh refused to comment this morning on whether Manipur will have a Deputy Chief Minister in Y Joykumar Singh, a leader of the National People's Party of NPP, whose four legislators are supporting the BJP, according to a NDTV report. 

- Lok Janshakti Party legislator Karma Shyam and Trinamool congress leader Robindro Singh are expected to be made ministers.

- The Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and the Trinamool Congress that won one seat each in the Manipur assembly elections have announced support for the BJP. 

- The Naga People's Front or NPF offered external support of its four legislators to BJP to form a government, says they will not be a part of the government or have ministers in the Cabinet.  

- Manipur Governor Najma Heptullah invited the BJP-run coalition to form the government and said BJP has the number to get into the power. 

- Earlier, there were reports that Congress leaders will call on Governor Heptullah soon to stake claim to form the government.

- The Congress, which won the most seats, 28, could not gather the support of three more legislators to make the 31-seat majority mark. It has accused the BJP of using "money power" to form the government in Goa and Manipur.